The crown for Miss Venus Model Caribbean goes to Sidneila Richardson

sidneila richardson-today-ilandvibez

TSXM – St. Maarten – Sometimes stepping outside the box can pay huge dividends for first timers, 18- year-old Sidneila Richardson was suitably rewarded after winning the swim suit segment in Miss Venus Model Caribbean which was held in Anguilla last weekend.

Richardson, a former student of the St Dominic High School was the youngest participant in the pageant and only representative from St Maarten but standing between her dreams and the prestigious prize were two participants from Anguilla and three from St Kitts.

“I was a little frustrated going into the pageant, but I was not nervous because I had my family sitting in the front row and my mother was my biggest fan but I was very hungry and tired,” Richardson said during an exclusive interview.

After three intense rounds of competition Richardson who said that she was extremely tired and hungry was not exactly optimistic about her chances and it came as a total shock when her name was called.

According to Richardson who also won the title for Miss Congeniality, Patricia Clark from St Kitts secured the 1st runner up position and the second runner up spot and Miss Photogenic title went to Amelia Brown, also from St Kitts. “I thought that the crown would end up in St Kitts this time,” she stated.  But little did she realize that her life was about to change for the best after competing in her first pageant.

“When they said that our Miss Venus is Sidneila Richardson, I was standing in the back row and my jaw dropped, I almost had a heart attack on stage, it was not until the outgoing queen called me that I started to cry, but I did not want my make up to run and I had to suck up my tears, but my mother went crazy and she was also my biggest motivation,” Richardson added. In addition to the coveted crown.

“We did not participate in the fashion fare this year said Alida Brown, the local pageant coordinator. “We had a last minute problem with sponsors and two of the girls who were fully prepared to go had to pull out,” Brown added.

According to Brown, for the swim suit competition, Richardson was required to wear two outfits that was provided by the organizers and the third one designed by the participant. “Miss Venus is all about cancer awareness and the specific colors had to be incorporated into the third swim suit. They also had to deliver a speech about the island they represented and talk about themselves during an interview segment,” Brown said.

The Miss Venus Model Caribbean has been staged in Anguilla for the past 12 years, in 2012, Caroline Paredes brought the title to St Maarten for the first time and Richardson was instrumental in keeping the short tradition alive.

Richardson who insists that her education comes first has already been approached by an organization in Curacao to participate in a pageant and I am thinking about it, the offers are flowing in already, but for now, I have to relax, but I would encourage other girls to compete, I had fun,” she concluded.

Richardson took the opportunity to thank Ahmar Gumbs, Janay, Ruiz Thomas, Sameila Connors and the photographer who turned her from an ordinary young lady into an aspiring model, Milton Pieters.

With less than a year before the next pageant, Brown has extended an open invitation for prospective contestants to contact her via facebook. Training will start as early as November.

