THE WHOLE TRUE STORY: Suspect in custody – Mother: baby was killed in house

Latoya, Mark and Mark Jr. Reid. Photo Today / Milton Pieters 
 
(TODAY) – St. Maarten / By Milton G Pieters – When Latoya Morgan tucked in her two month old child to sleep during the early stages of Tuesday evening, she had no idea it would be the last time. Less than five hours after, that child, Mark Reid Jr was dead, now the still distraught mother wants to set the record straight.

As the entire island fights hard to come to grips with what unfolded late on Tuesday evening in Middle Region, Prime Minister Sarah Wescot-Williams has extended her heartfelt condolences to the family of the deceased.

Morgan, a mother of three who is originally from Jamaica and works in Oyster Bay, lives in the apartment at Middle Region #107 with Mark Reid, the father of the now dead infant also from Jamaica who is employed as Sheriff Security.

According to an earlier media report the baby was brutally killed on the road by a man who had suffered a mental breakdown. According to the article, prior to the alleged snatching of the baby from its home in Middle Region.

In a brief response from the Prosecutors Office up to late yesterday afternoon, this newspaper was told that the details of the crime scene are still being analyzed and it’s far too early to ascertain the probable cause of death.

The man, who also works at Sheriff Security, was involved in a road rage which started at the club in Defiance and left several cars damaged in its wake before making a hasty exit on foot after the car he was driving crashed into a wall.

Realizing that the police was in hot pursuit, the man, whose initials were given as D.L.B, from Dominica sought refuge in the nearest house which turned out to be the one Morgan and Reid live in.

“Me and the baby were asleep when I heard a sound and I jumped up quickly,” Morgan said in a quivering tone of voice. Morgan’s initial thought was that the person who had already gained entry into her downstairs apartment was a thief, but had no idea that the man had another motive and was not mentally stable.

“The front door was wide open and I saw the man with no shirt on the couch and babbling something like 999, to himself. I decided to hide behind the bathroom door and kept my eyes on him through a small hole. When he made his move, the first place he looked was in the bathroom, but he did not see me, then he went into the bedroom,” Morgan added.

Oblivious of what had occurred a short distance away on the public road, Morgan, who was fearful for her life made a dash for her front door and shouted for help. “I figured out, it had to be a thief, I had no idea that the life of my son was at risk. I went upstairs to my landlord and banged on her door but she did not respond then until I struck the window again with a remote and I told her someone was in my house,” she said.

Morgan said that her landlord called the police and was told that a patrol was already in the Middle Region area and would respond as soon as possible. “I heard the baby cry while I was upstairs and thought, ok, maybe the noise woke him up. It was my landlord who saw him leaving the house, but because the place was dark, I could not see what he had in his hands, it was someone else that noticed it,” she blurted out.

Morgan’s fears worsened when she finally decided to return to her apartment which at that stage was ransacked. “I was not looking for signs of blood when I went back inside, I wanted to see if my son was okay, but I never saw my baby again,” she said.

In her quick assessment of the situation, Morgan said that she saw a few drops of blood on the porch and people was telling her to take it easy. The removal of a Holy Bible from the crib along with the baby was a clear sign that the man in custody is not in his right frame of mind.

“I did not even know my son was dead; the police told me, they said that my son died after the man slammed him down on the road a few times, that is not true, cause if the baby was alive when he was taking him from the house, he would have cried all the time. I was told after that my son was stabbed in his chest and his arms and his feet were broken,” Morgan pointed out.

Ironically, the situation might have been worse if Morgan’s eldest daughter age 15 had spent the night there. “She would have been on that couch and she would have been the first person he would kill, it’s a good thing she was staying at her father.”

“This whole thing is really heart breaking for me to know that I putting my life on the line to protect other people’s lives and property while my own is a target,” said Reid who had left for work in Oyster Bay shortly before the gruesome attack.

With his head bowed down and looking aimlessly at the tiled floor, Reid said, “I have to ask God to give us the faith from this storm. But after this storm, there must be a calm,” Reid Sr said. As a seasoned football goal keeper, Reid had big plans for his still infant son.

“I was looking forward to seeing him playing in the future, I even took him to the futsal games and no parent wants to see their child die like that. If they were sick and die, that was okay, but for somebody to violate your home and kill a baby, that should not happen on St Maarten, babies are innocent,” Reid said.

Even with the accused in custody, Reid does not feel that he will get the justice he deserves. “They said that he is sick in his head, he will get medical attention maybe a few months behind bars and then he back on the road. But nothing they do to him will bring back my son, nothing can erase my pain.”

Looking back briefly in retrospect, Reid said that the two months they spent with Mark Jr were wonderful. “That baby never gave his mother or me any kind of trouble, he was a special baby and loved by many,” he said.

For now, the grieving couple will have to deal with the planning of funeral arrangements for Mark Jr. However, Reid Sr is already thinking about having a memorial futsal tournament in memory of his only son.

22 thoughts on “THE WHOLE TRUE STORY: Suspect in custody – Mother: baby was killed in house

  1. What a mother. U gonna leave ur baby inside the house while a stranger is inside your house??? wth, the first thing u pick up is ur child and run, not urself…this just gets me more vex…what a mother…

    • You’re an idiot. Most parents wouldn’t left without their child but most would also leave if they thought the child was in no danger. We don’t expect someone to kill an innocent child. The mother probably thought that the intruder would not hurt her child. She did not know the man had a mental issue. Also, in the moment of fearing for you life as she may have thought the man might hurt her but not her child…she was probably in panic and did the best she could. Stop trying to blame the mother for this crime. Stop trying to make it harder than it is with you stupid comment. Let’s hope nothing like this ever happen to you and if it ever do….let’s hope you all decisions you make in fear are the right ones.

      • LIKE U WOULD HAVE LEFT UR 2 MONTH OLD IN BED WIF A INTRUDER THAT WAS TALKING GIBBERISH 999 STOP PRETENDING KEL

    • You are an illiterate jackass!!! Talking about what a mother, what a human being you are!!!!
      Instead you sympathize or have some sort of empathy for the family, atleast a bit, I mean okay, you could have blamed the mother in your comment and still have said you’re sorry not even for her loss but for the situation that happened you refused. Again what a human being!!! Were you, or have you ever been in such a position ?? They say talk is nothing until its time for action, what if it were you huh ? You ever think on that and you did the exact same thing and to come on a site like this or have part of the island blaming you for your baby’s death… Hmmm, I honestly don’t wish nothing bad for you, just please pray for some love, because out of love comes understanding, kindness, empathy, knowledge etc… And my advice to you is to read a book -_-
      To the family, I am sorry for what happened, I pray that justice be served in your favor, and that you be strong, in the name of our father he will see you through this.

    • I VEXXX TOO THERES SOMETHING TO THE STORY SHE HIDING WAT U DOING GOING BANG ON LANDLORD DOOR? LEAVING BABY WIF INTRUDER? THEN SAYING GOOD TING YR DAUGHTER WAS NOT THERE OR HE WOULD HAVE KILLED HER FIRST STUUUPPPESSSSSSS MAN

      • I hope the family gets justice and I do pray for the family but i agree with vex. i believe the family hiding something. the mother said she was hiding behind the bathroom door while the intruder inside. so where she pass to run outside and call landlord? in the sky man? stupes. why didn’t she take her baby and run also? im not trying to critizise but common man, that’s basic mother instinct. also in earlier news i heard the intruder worked as sheriff security. doesn’t the husband work as a sheriff security too???? u cannot be that mad in your head to commit such a bizzarre crime. they hiding plently in the story stupes

    • This is the same thing I been saying all the time… I am sorry to say but the story of the mother makes absolutely no sense to me at all! Why leave your little baby if a stranger breaks into your house? All this while you outside calling landord where is your sense of responsibility to your child?? A police officer have to tell you your child dead?? After you supposedly hear your child cry you still didnt run to it, you figure the noise woke him up?? PLEASSSSSSSSSSSSSE!!

  2. oh my that is soo terrible,, I dont know these folks but i have kids of my own, so i can imagine how hard it may be.. Thats real painful… God be with you guys through these ruff times!!!!!! Have faith and hold on .

  3. ppl cant talk or say wa they would do caus ur not in the person place imagin ur son was killed pff f
    feel for the parents

  4. Look to the Almighty GOD for strenght, my love for children has taken me as far as Africa and I have witnessed much suffering. It hurts to know something like this could happen right under our nose. GOD BLESS YOU.

  5. Why the hell fck the government have to help someone with their burial? Such an asinine comment. Then you going: “Gov’t wasting our tax money” or “Pay for this and that one own too”.

  6. You are an illiterate jackass!!! Talking about what a mother, what a human being you are!!!!
    Instead you sympathize or have some sort of empathy for the family, atleast a bit, I mean okay, you could have blamed the mother in your comment and still have said you’re sorry not even for her loss but for the situation that happened you refused. Again what a human being!!! Were you, or have you ever been in such a position ?? They say talk is nothing until its time for action, what if it were you huh ? You ever think on that and you did the exact same thing and to come on a site like this or have part of the island blaming you for your baby’s death… Hmmm, I honestly don’t wish nothing bad for you, just please pray for some love, because out of love comes understanding, kindness, empathy, knowledge etc… And my advice to you is to read a book -_-
    To the family, I am sorry for what happened, I pray that justice be served in your favor, and that you be strong, in the name of our father he will see you through this.

  7. WELL STORY GETTING MORE SKETCHY EACH DAY I AM OUTRAGED Y DAH HELL U LEAVE BABY ALONE IN HOUSE AND RUN UPSTAIRS TO BANG ON LANDLORD DOOR? FIND DAT MAKING SENSE,? U DOH FOOL ME THERES SOMETHING U HIDING WOMAN WATCH WAT U SAY YR OWN TONGUE WILL CONDEMM U I NOT BUYING YR STORY I JUST VVVEEEEXXXX

    • What’s it fuckinf to you if the mother hiding something or not… Acting like is ur baby momma or something… EVEN IF she hiding some thing, aint nuttin tha nobody could do or say to make this right… A innocent baby lose he life over NOTHING n all u dumb ignorant people are doing is judging and trying to make it even more painfull then it already is….mind ur fucking business of you have some… When something terrible happen to you…. Don’t look for no support or sympathy…. After all what goes around comes around! It just sickens me to know that there are people out there that have something else to say then I wish the parents and family all the strength they can find or get in these hard times and hope that someday the pain and memories might not be as hurtfull as right now. And for the ignorant dumb fuck that wrote shit, I see somebody telling you they wish nuttin bad for you… Well guess what? I actually do wish something terrible happen to you and I sincerely hope that people will talk shit about you then. You have no effin reason to even be questioning why or how things happen unless u the fucking police or so…. I could go on forever trying to make u see how dumb u is, but then again u prob too dumb to understand… Good luck with judgement day, LET HE WHO IS WITHOUT SIN CAST THE FIRST STONE

    • i read that he muttered 999 we must nnote that the devils technics is wisely hidden 666 this is the mark of the beast i believe to he was possessed. it wasn’t really 999 he meant just turn it over. a tool by the enemy and also he left with the holy bible..a life was sacrifice for satan..trust me these things r real. my condolences to the family of the deceased. trust God he will carry u thru.

  8. I feel real sorry for what happen. Such an innocent little gift from God is taken away in such a brutal manner. My condolences to the parents and family.
    But I must say that I can understand those who feels that there is more to the story. It could be just as what is said but it really is a strange story.
    Anyhow, we can wonder all we want the fact remains that this should not have happened, no matter what the story is. May God comfort the family during this most difficult time.

  9. What I don’t understand is how a mother didn’t even think about her child. The guy came in the house, she hides, she sees him walking around. The guy didn’t not have a weapon, she didn’t mention he a weapon of any sort. She could have tried to get something to attack him or even just like how she got out of the house she could have tried to sneak past him to reach to her child and then find a way to get out. She saw the guy walking around she only thought about her life. While she was seeking help from the Landlord she allow the man to take his time to roam about her place to kidnapped her baby. If you try to catch a chick and the mother hen is around she would, any animal you name would attack who or what ever is after her babies. Some mother’s even would lay their life or even died protecting their children no what the out come. I’m so sorry for this tragedy. It really breaks my heart.

Leave a Reply

